Close

LECTURE 13.02. Gesa von Grote: Space I Object I Light

20Light dramaturgy and object staging in exhibitions

Scenography serves to stage content. Ideas, stories and things become a spatial dramaturgy that appeals to the senses and at best evokes emotions. Scenography uses all means of space creation to stage themes and artefacts. Instruments include a structuring architecture and exhibition graphics as well as the immaterial language of media and light for objects of all kinds.
Light in museum and exhibition spaces is a complex area in lighting design. Not only the surrounding space, but primarily the objects must be shown to their best advantage, while at the same time integrating solutions for their protection and preservation as well as optimal perceptibility of the objects by the viewer. Gesa von Grote develops optimal lighting dramaturgies through a clever combination of daylight, room lighting and exhibition lighting.
With a high aesthetic standard, object stagings and light spaces are thus created and new perspectives of perception are opened to the viewer.

13th February 2020 at 7 p.m. 
TU Berlin, Studio 484, Masterstudiengang Bühnenbild_Szenischer Raum,
Ackerstrasse 76, 13355 Berlin, (Access: courtyard 3, staircase H, 4th floor left)
(Free admission, no registration required)
Link to the Facebook event

Gesa von Grote is an architect and scenographer. After studying architecture at the RWTH Aachen, the École d’architecture de Paris-La Défense and the Hochschule der Künste Berlin, she has been working with the exhibition organizer Stefan Iglhaut since 2005, since 2010 under the name IGLHAUT + von GROTE. Together with her interdisciplinary team, she develops concepts and projects in the fields of cultural history, science, art and the brand world and realises narrative spaces and media architecture for these. For her presentation concepts the surrounding space, exhibition architecture, graphics, media, light and object world are combined.

Picture 1: Exhibition ship MS Wissenschaft “The digital society”. Network of light cords
@Gesa von Grote

Picture 2: German Music Archive in the German National Library in Leipzig. Large display case with suspended objects, highlighted by accent lighting
@ Iglhaut + von Grote

Go and get grab your copy now!

Close

LECTURE 13.02. Gesa von Grote: Raum I Objekt I Licht

Lichtdramaturgie und Objektinszenierungen in Ausstellungen

Szenografie dient der Inszenierung von Inhalten. Ideen, Geschichten und Dinge werden zu einer räumlichen Dramaturgie, die die Sinne anspricht und im besten Fall Emotionen hervorruft. Szenografie nutzt alle Mittel der Raumbildung, um Themen und Artefakte in Szene zu setzen. Zu den Instrumenten gehören eine gliedernde Architektur und Ausstellungsgrafik ebenso wie die immaterielle Sprache von Medien und Licht für Objekte jeder Art.

Licht im Museums- und Ausstellungsraum ist ein komplexes Gebiet in der Lichtplanung. Es müssen nicht nur der umgebende Raum, sondern vorrangig die Objekte zur Geltung kommen, bei gleichzeitiger Integration von Lösungen für deren Schutz und Erhaltung sowie der optimalen Wahrnehmbarkeit der Objekte durch die Betrachter. Durch eine geschickte Kombination aus Tageslicht, Raumlicht und Ausstellungslicht  entwickelt Gesa von Grote optimale Lichtdramaturgien. Mit einem hohen ästhetischen Anspruch werden somit Objektinszenierungen und Lichträume geschaffen und dem Betrachter neue Perspektiven der Wahrnehmung eröffnet.

Termin: 13.02.2020 um 19 Uhr
Ort: TU Berlin, Studio 484, Masterstudiengang Bühnenbild_Szenischer Raum,
Ackerstrasse 76, 13355 Berlin, (Zugang: Hof 3, Aufgang H, 4. Etage links)
(Eintritt frei, keine Anmeldung erforderlich)
Link zur Facebook-Veranstaltung

Please note: Ab 17 Uhr findet der OPEN DAY statt, Ateliers sind offen, Projekte des Studiengangs werden vorgestellt, das Bewerbungsverfahren wird vorgestellt, alle Fragen rund ums Studium beantwortet.

Gesa von Grote ist Architektin und Szenografin. Nach ihrem Architekturstudium an der RWTH Aachen, der École d’architecture de Paris-La Défense und der Hochschule der Künste Berlin arbeitet sie seit 2005 mit dem Ausstellungsmacher Stefan Iglhaut zusammen, seit 2010 unter der Firmierung IGLHAUT + von GROTE. Zusammen mit ihrem interdisziplinären Team entwickelt sie Konzepte und Projekte im Bereich Kulturgeschichte, Wissenschaft, Kunst und Markenwelt und realisiert hierfür narrative Räume sowie mediale Architekturen. Für ihre Präsentationskonzepte gehen umgebender Raum, Ausstellungsarchitektur, Grafik, Medien, Licht und Objektwelt eine Verbindung ein.

Bild 1: Ausstellungsschiff MS Wissenschaft „Die digitale Gesellschaft“. Netzwerk aus Leuchtschnüren
@Gesa von Grote

Bild 2: Deutsches Musikarchiv in der Deutschen Nationalbibliothek Leipzig. Großvitrine mit abgehängten Objekten, hervorgehoben durch Akzentlicht
@ Iglhaut + von Grote

Go and get grab your copy now!