Andrea Palacios

A communicator at heart, and creatively restless by nature, Andrea Palacios moved to Europe to study both Journalism and Advertising. Andrea was drawn to journalism for its ability to showcase different realities, explode thought bubbles, and expand readers’ universes. Which is the same source of impulse towards to learn and create with a new language: space and stage design.

After arriving in Berlin, via Caracas, Madrid and Amsterdam, she was ecstatic to land opportunities in the cultural scene. Andrea was able to work with the music label Piranha Records, which manages WOMEX festival and Karneval der Kulturen, as well as with some contemporary art galleries, artist studios, and creative outlets such as Peres Projects, Tomás Saraceno, VICE, Metal Magazine, among others.

This opened Andrea’s eyes to a different way of communicating and underlining narratives that interested her. That’s when she co-founded RESET. RESET is a project that seeks to create spaces in a sustainably conscious way. They design and build all of their sets by up-cycling materials, giving a “second life” to them, even after they’ve reached a perceived point of obsolescence. They have worked together with different collaborators, such as Studio Beta, Burning Man Embassy in the Haus der Statistik, with stand-up comedian Vidura Rajapaska for his short film Native Number Four, and other creatives.

Andrea Palacios_WS20:21_B&W

Andrea Palacios

Andrea Palacios, von Natur aus ein Kommunikator und kreativ unruhig, zog nach Europa, um sowohl Journalismus als auch Werbung zu studieren. Der Journalismus zog Andrea Palacios wegen seiner Fähigkeit an, unterschiedliche Realitäten darzustellen, Gedankenblasen zum Explodieren zu bringen und das Universum der Leser zu erweitern. Das ist die gleiche Quelle des Impulses, mit einer neuen Sprache zu lernen und zu kreieren: Raum und Bühnenbild.

Nach ihrer Ankunft in Berlin, über Caracas, Madrid und Amsterdam, war sie ekstatisch, die Chancen in der Kulturszene zu nutzen. Andrea konnte mit dem Musiklabel Piranha Records zusammenarbeiten, das das WOMEX-Festival und den Karneval der Kulturen leitet, sowie mit einigen Galerien für zeitgenössische Kunst, Künstlerstudios und kreativen Einrichtungen wie Peres Projects, Tomás Saraceno, VICE, Metal Magazine und anderen.

Dies öffnete Andrea die Augen für eine andere Art der Kommunikation und das Unterstreichen von Erzählungen, die sie interessierten. Zu diesem Zeitpunkt war sie Mitbegründerin von RESET. RESET ist ein Projekt, das versucht, Räume auf eine nachhaltig bewusste Weise zu schaffen. Sie entwerfen und bauen alle ihre Bühnenbilder, indem sie Materialien recyceln und ihnen ein “zweites Leben” geben, selbst wenn sie an einem vermeintlich veralteten Punkt angelangt sind. Sie haben mit verschiedenen Kollaboratoren zusammengearbeitet, z.B. mit Studio Beta, Burning Man Embassy im Haus der Statistik, mit dem Stand-up-Komiker Vidura Rajapaska für seinen Kurzfilm Native Number Four und anderen Kreativen.

Andrea Palacios_WS20:21_B&W