Janina Velhorn

Janina Velhorn was born in Würzburg in 1988. From 2010 till 2014 she did her bachelor’s degree at the Peter Behrens School of Architecture in Düsseldorf. In the same year she started her master’s program in architecture at the State Academy of Fine Arts in Stuttgart. Influenced by the academy’s transdisciplinary working methods, she was a guest student in the class for set and costume design conducted by Martin Zehetgruber as well as in the class for film and photography led by Ricarda Roggan.

In 2016 her post documentary IS THIS ALL ABOUT YOU, which was developed in cooperation with the masterclass student Shana Levy, has been shown in the Folkwang Museum in Essen as part of the exhibition The Great Infinity Pool. Participating at the Gallery KOW in 2015 strengthened her appreciation for conceptual and curatorial work.

After finishing her master’s degree in 2018 Janina moved to Berlin where she worked at O&O Baukunst until February 2019. In March 2019 she has been an assistant at Maxim Gorki Theater, Berlin. Besides, corporations with several collectives as well as with students from the Deutsche Film- und Fernsehakademie Berlin aroused. For the short movieFrühstück by Adriano Theill & Marianne Borowiec she was responsible for set and costume design. Since September 2019 Janina works for the austrian artists Maria Anwander and Ruben Aubrecht.

8D8057CD-9C4B-4C89-B4FA-7CC9ADB215AE

Janina Velhorn

Janina Velhorn wurde 1988 in Würzburg geboren. Von 2010 bis 2014 studierte sie Architektur im Bachelor an der Peter Behrens School of Architecture in Düsseldorf. Im selben Jahr begann Sie ihren Master im Bereich Architektur an der Staatlichen Akademie der Bildenden Künste in Stuttgart. Beeinflusst von der transdisziplinären Arbeitsweise an der Akademie war sie Gaststudentin in der Klasse für Bühnen- & Kostümbild bei Martin Zehetgruber, sowie in der Klasse für Film und Fotografie bei Ricarda Roggan.

In Kooperation mit der Meisterschülerin Shana Levy entstand 2016 der postdokumentarische Film IS THIS ALL ABOUT YOU, welcher im Rahmen der Ausstellung The Great Infinity Pool für drei Monate im Folkwang Museum in Essen zu sehen war. Ihre Mitarbeit in der Galerie KOW (2015) prägte ihr Verständnis für konzeptuelle und kuratorische Arbeitsformen.

Nach Abschluss des Masters 2018 zog sie nach Berlin, wo sie bis Januar 2019 bei O&O Baukunst tätig war. Im März 2019 war sie Hospitantin am Maxim Gorki Theater. Daneben entstanden Kooperationen mit verschiedenen Kollektiven, sowie Filmstudenten der Deutschen Film- und Fernsehakademie Berlin. Für den Kurzfilm Frühstück von Adriano Theill & Marianne Borowiec gestaltete sie Set und Kostüm. Seit September 2019 arbeitet Janina als künstlerische Assistenz für Maria Anwander und Ruben Aubrecht.

8D8057CD-9C4B-4C89-B4FA-7CC9ADB215AE