Bühnenbild_Szenischer Raum is a two-year post-graduate course at the TU Berlin aimed at a „master of arts“ degree. This two-fold approach coupled with a highly practice-oriented approach makes this course unique in German-speaking countries.
Our postgraduate course merges two areas of spacial composition by exploring designs for the stage (theatre, opera, dance) as well as for spaces such as exhibitions, events and performance. Based on our understanding of space, we focus on spacial compositions with a theatrical, urban and atmospheric context. Our goal is to teach the strategies of dramaturgic spacial composition on a theoretical and practical level, thereby giving students skills they can subsequently employ with artistic vigour, consequence and efficiency in their chosen field. The course specifically encourages the development and realization of experimental work aimed at exploring new possibilities of spacial composition.

Each year 18-20 freshmen join our degree course making an overall total of approx. 42 students. Our course sees many international students from diverse cultural backgrounds forming creative synergies through interdisciplinary work. Currently we have students from 16 nations, among them Italy, Greece, Russia, Taiwan, the USA, Puerto Rico and many more. The average age is 28 (ranging from 23-40 years). Previous professional experience varies from applicant to applicant.
Our teaching staff of over 30 professionals from various fields offers a diverse range of subjects, bringing knowledge and insight from careers as set designers, (video-) artists, architects, curators, technical directors, theatre theorists, dramaturges, directors, costume designers and many more.

Our spacious, light, ceiling high studios are situated in the 1000sqm lofts of the AEGs former redbrick factory in Berlin-Mitte. The space is open to all faculties. Each student is allocated a private, fully accessible studio within the space. Additionally students have access to a large multi-functional studio, libraries, seminar rooms, a small kitchen and the “Mensa” (canteen) run by the “Studentenwerk” (student services).

Contact details
Directions (google maps)

Ackerstrasse 76, 13355 Berlin, Courtyard 3, Stairwell H, 4th Floor, 476-484
Public transport: U8 Voltastrasse, S1 Nordbahnhof, Bus 247 Gartenplatz

One significant feature of our Masters degree course is our continuous cooperation with external partners. Realisation competitions, collaborations with professional productions, commissioned Masters projects and creative workshops assure a highly practice-oriented education. Work experience at theatres, museums or in agencies as well a student-organised Masters show reinforce the practical elements of the course. Theoretical research components are enhanced by working closely with select German universities: (HfM Hanns Eisler, HZT Hochschulzentrum Tanz, HfS Ernst-Busch, UDK Sound Studies, Beuth Hochschule a.o.).

Our Partners:

Moreover, there is a well-maintained network of over 200 graduates and lecturers. The program is actively involved in several clubs and professional organizations: VerA, Bund der SzenografenLAFTEIS (Europäische Initiative Szenografie)DTHG (Deutsche Theatertechnische Gesellschaft), Deutscher Bühnenverein, Gesellschaft von Freunden der TU Berlin e.V.

Go and get grab your copy now!

Close

Der Masterstudiengang Bühnenbild_Szenischer Raum der TU Berlin ist eine zweijährige Weiterbildung mit dem Abschluss “Master of Arts”. Das Doppelprofil und eine starke Praxis- und Projektorientierung  sind einmalig im deutschsprachigen Raum.
Die Weiterbildung verbindet zwei Denkweisen der dramaturgischen Gestaltung von Raum: Einerseits den Entwurf des Bühnenraumes für Schauspiel, Musiktheater und Tanz– andererseits die Gestaltung von szenischen Räumen für Ausstellung, Event, Performance.
Ausgehend vom Begriff Raum beschäftigen wir uns schwerpunktmäßig mit Raumgestaltungen im theatralen, urbanen und atmosphärisch exponierten Kontext.
Ziel ist es, Strategien der dramaturgischen Raumgestaltung und deren Umsetzung methodisch und handwerklich zu erlernen, um später sämtliche „Spielarten“ zu beherrschen und diese künstlerisch kraftvoll, konsequent und effizient im jeweiligen Feld einzusetzen. Insbesondere neue Formen der Raumgestaltung werden an unserem Studiengang experimentell entwickelt und erprobt.

Pro Jahr können 16 bis 20 Studierende aufgenommen werden, insgesamt sind zur Zeit 40 Studierende immatrikuliert. Die Internationalität und Interdisziplinarität innerhalb der Klasse schafft positive Synergien. Derzeit sind Studierende aus 16 Nationen vertreten (Italien, Griechenland, Russland, Taiwan, Amerika, Puerto Rico u.a.). Das Durchschnittsalter der Studierenden liegt bei 28 Jahren, einige haben langjährige Berufserfahrung, andere kürzere.
Mit über 30 freien, in der Praxis tätigen DozentInnen ermöglichen wir eine kontinuierliche und abwechslungsreiche Lehre. Die DozentInnen sind Bühnenbildner, (Video-)Künstler, Architekten, Ausstellungsgestalter,  Dramaturgen, Regisseure, Kostümbildner, Theaterwissenschaftler, Technische Direktoren etc.

In einem ehemaligen AEG-Backsteinbau in Berlin-Mitte sind die großzügigen Räumlichkeiten des Studiengangs angesiedelt. Auf einer Dachetage mit über 1.000 Quadratmetern befinden sich hohe, lichtdurchflutete Ateliers. Jeder Studierende hat einen eigenen Atelierplatz – ganztägig zugänglich, mit allen benötigten Facilities. Ein großes multifunktionales Studio, eine Bibliothek, Seminarräume, eine eigene Küche und die Mensa des Studentenwerks stehen zur Verfügung.

Kontaktdetails
Anfahrt (Google Maps)

Adresse:
Ackerstrasse 76, 13355 Berlin, Hof 3, Treppe H, 4. Etage, Räume ACK 476-484
Fahrverbindungen: U8 Voltastr., S1 Nordbahnhof, Bus 247 Gartenplatz

Wesensmerkmal des weiterbildenden Masterstudienganges ist die Kooperation mit externen Partnern. In Form von Realisierungswettbewerben, Projektumsetzungen, beauftragten Masterarbeiten und Kreativworkshops wird eine praxisnahe und projektorientierte Ausbildung gewährt. Zwei externe Praktika bzw. freie Projekte an Theatern, Museen oder in Agenturen sowie eine von den Studierenden selbst inszenierte Masterausstellung erhöhen zudem den Praxisbezug während des Studiums. In der Lehre arbeiten wir eng mit anderen Berliner Hochschulen zusammen (HfM Hanns Eisler, HZT Hochschulzentrum Tanz, HfS Ernst-Busch, UDK Sound Studies, Beuth Hochschule u.a.).

Unsere Kooperationspartner:

Darüberhinaus besteht ein gut gepflegtes Netzwerk von mittlerweile über 200 Absolventen und den Dozenten. Der Studiengang beteiligt sich aktiv in mehreren Vereinen und Berufsverbänden: VerA, Bund der SzenografenLAFTEIS (Europäische Initiative Szenografie)DTHG (Deutsche Theatertechnische Gesellschaft), Deutscher Bühnenverein, Gesellschaft von Freunden der TU Berlin e.V.

Go and get grab your copy now!