Close

Die Fledermaus

Cooperation: HfM Hanns Eisler
Tutors: Claus Unzen, Sven Holm
Stage and Costume, realization

“Die Fledermaus” is a semester cooperation project with the Hochschule für Musik Hanns Eisler under the direction of Prof. Claus Unzen and Prof. Sven Holm. Excerpts from the operetta by Johann Strauss were realised on the “Studiobühne der HfM” and in the theatre “Altes Kino Delphi” in Berlin Weissensee.

When the “Fledermaus” premiered in Vienna in 1874, people had little to laugh about: the stock market crash of 1873 led Viennese society to an unprecedented permanent crisis. Contemporary voices spoke of a “chronic illness”, of the “discouraging force of depression” and of a “state that bears all the characteristics of chronic, creeping fever: gradual debilitation, slow bleeding”. The perfect time for amusement and repression, for an operetta that evokes the decadence and demise of society. The work depicts a world that lives, that drinks, that dances … inwardly moral crash, abyss … outwardly the lie, the illusion, the deception, the lying and the lying to oneself in order to make life bearable.

In teamwork with students of the Masters course in Bühnenbild_Szenischer Raum, the directing students have intensively dealt with this igniting material and stage excerpts and scenes from the three acts of Johann Strauss’s “Fledermaus”.

© Leopold Stoffels (Photos)

Go and get grab your copy now!

Close

Die Fledermaus

Kooperation: HfM Hanns Eisler
Dozent: Claus Unzen, Sven Holm
Bühne und Kostüme, Realisierung

“Die Fledermaus” ist ein Semesterkooperationsprojekt mit der Hochschule für Musik Hanns Eisler unter der Leitung von Prof. Claus Unzen und Prof. Sven Holm. Ausschnitte aus der Operette von Johann Strauss wurden auf der “Studiobühne der HfM” und im Theater “Altes Kino Delphi” in Berlin Weissensee realisiert.

Als die „Fledermaus“ 1874 in Wien uraufgeführt wurde, hatten die Menschen in der Tat wenig zu lachen: der Börsenkrach von 1873 führte die Wiener Gesellschaft zu einer bis dahin noch nie dagewesenen Dauerkrise. Zeitgenössische Stimmen sprachen von einer „chronischen Erkrankung“, von der „entmutigenden Wucht der Depression“ und von einem „Zustand, der alle Merkmale des chronischen, schleichenden Fiebers trage: allmähliche Entkräftung, langsame Verblutung.“ Die perfekte Zeit für Amüsement und Verdrängung, für eine Operette, die die Dekadenz und den Untergang einer Gesellschaft beschwört. Das Werk schildert eine Welt, die lebt, die trinkt, die tanzt … nach innen moralischer Absturz, Abgrund … nach außen die Lüge, die Illusion, die Täuschung, das Lügen und Sich-Belügen, um das Leben ertragbar zu machen.

Die Regiestudierenden haben sich in Teamarbeit mit Studierenden des Mastertstudiengangs Bühnenbild_Szenischer Raum intensiv mit diesem zündenden Stoff auseinandergesetzt und inszenieren Ausschnitte und Szenen aus den drei Akten der „Fledermaus“ von Johann Strauss.

Fotos: Leopold Stoffels

Go and get grab your copy now!